Peppermint Essential Oil

Just as a reminder…

WARNING: This blog is not a resource for providing medical advice. Postings made at this site have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. Products discussed here are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

16664002035_7beb26704e_c

The first oil we will look at is Peppermint oil!

I have problems with staying awake.  In fact, one day I was telling the office manager where I go to Bible study that I kept falling asleep while I was driving there.  She told me to hold out my hands and she put in a drop or two of Peppermint Essential Oil.  I raised my hands up to my nose and breathed in deeply.  I could not believe how refreshed and awake I felt.  During our Bible study I was so alert.  Well, I was sold on this oil.  In fact, I diffuse it more than any other oil.  I love it!

Young Living’s Peppermint Essential Oil is so potent that just ONE DROP delivers the effectiveness of about 28 cups of pure peppermint tea. Peppermint also serves to help drive other oils in, so it’s a great tool in layering!

 

Uses

  • Headaches: Peppermint is wonderful for headaches.  My doctor had put me on some pretty powerful medicine for my headaches.  If I took it I was so out of it for almost 24 hours.  I had to really be hurting to take a pill.  Now, I just diffuse some Peppermint Oil and in a short time, I’m doing better.  I have heard that it works well with sinus, migraine, tension, etc. Though I haven’t tried this yet, I have heard that it is good to rub a bit on the back of the neck, temples, and behind the ears.
  • Digestion: Peppermint helps with a number of digestive issues including nausea, gas, constipation and heartburn. Here’s a good suggestion–If you’re a bit stopped up, a drop of peppermint in the toilet bowl is very helpful for many people! I haven’t tried that yet.  I understand that for heartburn and nausea, you can rub a drop on the roof of your mouth or under your nose.  It’s a little to “hot” for me so I would just diffuse.
  • Alertness/Concentration: A study performed at the University of Cincinnati found that inhaling peppermint oil increased mental accuracy by 28%!  We’ve already talked about how much I need this.
  • Reducing Fevers: If you’re in a pinch and need to reduce a fever, peppermint can be very effective. You can dilute a few drops in a carrier and rub it on the bottoms of the feet, along the spine.

Safety regarding Peppermint Essential Oil: Peppermint oil should not be used in children under 6 years of age, and should be heavily diluted in children over 6. In my opinion, I would not use Peppermint oil on children.

Next up in our line up of Essential Oil will be Lemon.  Lemon was the very first oil I was introduced to.

If you want to get your starter kit in the meantime and start saving 24% on all of your oils, go HERE.

Leave a Reply

